Long Distance Relationships….YES THEY SUCK

 

I spoke to someone earlier who needed advice on his long distance relationship and because I am indeed in the same boat, I thought this post might be useful.

 

Thinking about getting involved in a long distance relationship sounds pretty risky, I know, but I guess you need to weigh up the pros and cons to see if it will work out. Of course, a relationship is not going to work without a few arguments and disagreements along the way but you need to be able to be strong and pull through!

 

I believe that the reason people get into long distance relationships so easily is because of all the memes and inspirational quotes that are constantly being scattered around the social media. They don’t think about how difficult it is going to be, not being able to see your loved one.You have to be serious and committed when entering a long distance relationship and be prepared for the downs that might come along on the way –  with not being able to see each other regularly.

 

I will admit that when things get difficult, they get extremely difficult because you don’t have that one person there for you to see and confide in. I mean, I know there is Skype and different social networking sites for you to talk to each other on but it’s not the same as being physically together. There has been plenty of times where I have screamed in my pillow because of how bad my heart hurts when I need my special person to be with me.

 

However, when you’re with that special person, it is amazing. I guess this is because after waiting so long, you spend every minute together like it’s your last and the memories you make with one another are definitely enough to keep you going for however many months you have to next wait to be together.

 

People may also find telling their parents about their long distance relationship rather tricky. I never had a problem with telling my parents because I used to be very open about my relationship and used to be on Skype regularly when my parents were around. I believe that if you want your relationship to work and to last hopefully a long time, you should be able to tell your parents. Honesty is the best policy, in my opinion. Telling your parents about your feelings for this person, or even slightly mentioning it day by day, will finally help them to understand what you are going through and they should eventually accept your relationship. However, if you are a girl, many fathers will be rather protective so this might take a bit of convincing to show daddy how much your loved one means to you. Long distance relationships do take time and effort to work.

 

I know this may sound cheesy, but if you love the person and the person loves you too, then things should definitely work out. As my momma constantly states: ‘What’s meant to be, will be’.

 

– Millie 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

